The Fault in our Stars by John Green | Book Review

9780525478812_custom-7eb6cc16a8a3f2266865895e1718ac9e9d6232e0-s6-c30-321x470


“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world…but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices.”

John Green


What’s up with bringing people to their outrages despairs and sharing their stories? Ok, I love it already. From Breaking Bad to argentine film Relatos Salvajes (watch it, seriously, watch it!), I’ve been thinking a lot about the moment in which a  person is brought up to the saddest or most fearless moments of their lives and they wildly act upon emotions.

Today I wanted to make my own book review for “The Fault in our Stars” by John Green.

I know, I know, I’m super late for the review, but wanted to come up with my own comments on it. For some reason I rejected reading it because of all the fuss about it, and when the movie kicked in I was definite I wouldn’t watch it until I read the book. Now I’m not sure if I’ll watch the movie at all, not sure.

I love reading, but I don’t love reading it just because everyone else is reading it and loves it. I feel that sometimes there are stories that touch as in the moment we need them to, and that is the magic of a writer. John Green totally did this to many teenagers! :)

This is the story of two teenage kids who struggled in a way or another through cancer. I won’t be giving any details not to spoil it, but this is a book that brings the characters to show they have their “deadline” super close and this made them angry, thoughtful, but above all very, very, real and PRESENT. I love this last part, living the most out of each day and being present where we are, right now, at this precise moment.

Probably because there is a story of child cancer in my family that this story touches me profoundly, but I feel that there is a lot of different things we take for granted every single day and we just shouldn’t. The gift of a new day, yes kind of cliché, but so true! Friends, family, husbands/special ones, we all have something to be SO thankful for.

I want to live the most out of my days and this book is just a reminder of that. I know this has a lot to do with my beliefs (click on I believe to know more about that!), but I guess this book reminds me just this. And that is all I’ll say about it.

¿Qué es lo que pasa con eso de traer a la gente a un punto extremo y compartir sus historias? Ok, me encanta! De Breaking Bad a Relatos Salvajes, he estado pensando mucho en el momento en que se lleva a una persona al momento más crítico y desafiante de sus vidas, y cómo actúan bajo sus emociones de manera salvaje.

Hoy quería compartir mis sentimientos sobre “The Fault in Our Stars” de John Green.

Lo sé, lo sé, estoy muy tarde para hacer una revisión seguro todos ya lo leyeron, pero igual quería compartir mis propias observaciones al respecto. Por alguna razón, rechazo rotundamente la lectura “bestseller” por todo lo que se habla sobre ello, y luego sale la película sobre este libro y decidí leer el libro antes de ver la película. Ahora no se si veré siquiera la película :P

Me encanta leer. Siento que hay veces que ciertas historias nos tocan en un momento específico de la vida por algo y nos dejan una marca, y eso es la magia del escritor. John Green hizo esto con mucho adolescentes :D

Sobre el libro: dos adolescentes que han luchado de una manera u otra con cancer. No voy a dar más detalles para no arruinarle la experiencia a nadie, pero este es un libro donde los personajes están muy atentos  a que tienen una “fecha de vencimiento” y esto los hace pensar, actuar y hablar de cierta manera. Los hace enojarse fácil, pero por sobre todo a estar muy PRESENTES. Me encanta esta ultima parte, que viven cada día al máximo y siempre MUY presentes.

Probablemente por que hay una historia de cancer infantil en mi familia es que esta historia me toca muy profundo, pero si creo que damos por hecho muchas cosas y no deberíamos. El regalo de un nuevo día, si super cliche, pero tan cierto! Amigos, familia, esposos/novios/blah, todos tenemos algo para lo cual ser agradecidos.

Yo quiero vivir al máximo mis días y este libro me recuerda esto. Tiene también mucho que ver con mis creencias (para más info en esto hacer click en “I Believe”!), pero creo que este libro me recuerda eso. Y esto es lo único que diré al respecto.

 

Cheers,

Camila

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.